QA testing certifications

Knowing which software quality assurance courses to take can be difficult. That’s why in this article we’re covering some QA testing certifications you should take advantage of.

Understanding professional certifications for software testing

Software quality assurance (QA) certification is a voluntary program designed to help professionals who work with QA products and testing to obtain and maintain current standards in their industry. This training is for students to get a well-rounded, in-depth perspective on the working principles of Quality Assurance.

What is the importance of building software developments that meet certain standards?

Software quality assurance certifications are essential to career opportunities available that can help the market preserve consistent performance. Earning a software quality assurance certification can assist you in improving your resume and broadening your expertise. The following are some of the advantages of obtaining a software QA certification:

  • Benefitting from your expertise
  • Learning from scratch
  • Showing you how to become the candidate of choice
  • Making you ready for a more challenging position
  • Ensuring you are capable of leading a team

Types of QA Certifications

Below is a list of some software certifications, organized depending on your level of experience from beginner to advanced:

CAST certification

To advance your quality assurance (QA) career, you’ll want to earn a CAST certification. This certification demonstrates an applicant’s foundational understanding of software testing and is awarded by a non-governmental organization. This exam is reasonably priced at only $100, and the fee for study materials is included.

To qualify for this program, you must:

  • Have one of the following licenses: * Code401 * Laravel SSL * WireGuard * Let’s Encrypt * Free Lets
  • Three to four years of intensive study
  • Currently, a university or college degree is required, although some positions accept candidates with a high school diploma and one to two years of experience.
  • 3 years of experience working as …

Becoming an international software tester with ISTQB certification

The International Software Testing Qualification Board (ISTQB) recognizes software testing professionals with standard qualifications around the world.

Similar to other commonly accepted certification programs around the world, ISTQB exams follow a universal syllabus and offer different levels of certification for those with more advanced experience.

The entry-level mandatory exam costs $250, although ISTQB offers other, more specialized, levels of certification for more experienced testers.

It does not require any extraordinary prerequisites, however, it’s advisable to get at least six months of hands-on experience before joining this program.

Certified software tester

The CSTE program certifies that an individual possesses the skills and knowledge he or she needs to be successful as a software quality assurance (QA) engineer.

The program provides clarity on what the industry expects from a QA engineer. To gain certification, applicants must first learn the fundamentals of QA, and then take the test, which will involve a mix of hands-on practical experience and theoretical knowledge.

The CSTE certification program can cost between $350 and $420 depending on whether they are certified as a group by their company or individually. Anyone can take the exam, but passing the test requires a rigorous understanding of the fundamentals of QA.

The CYBR program requires candidates to have a minimum of 18 months of clinical work experience as well as one of the following prerequisites:

  • 2+ years of work experience
  • A required post-undergraduate degree (e.g., master’s)
  • A four-year college degree or higher from an accredited college
  • Six years of experience in the field

CSQA Certification Program

The Certified Software Quality Analyst (CSQA) Program trains individuals on the topics of quality assurance and control.

It consists of three parts: the CSTE (Certified Software Tester), the CSQE (Certified Software Quality Engineer), and the CSQA (Certified Software Quality Analyst).

The Certified Software Quality Analyst qualification is particularly useful for individuals who have earned their CSTE and are interested in making progress in their QA role.

To pass this program, students must earn at least 70% on the exam. The cost for this exam is $350 or $420 for access to the Software.

Candidates must have recent work experience within the cyber security industry or related fields such as chief financial officer, chief information officer, IT security manager/head of security, IT audit, risk management, or compliance.

  • A four-year degree from an accredited college with at least two years of professional experience
  • A bachelor’s degree or college diploma in creative writing, English, or a related field.
  • Three years of experience in a copyediting or proofreading role.
  • (Any) degree on a four-year plan from an accredited college with at least four years of experience in software development
  • Working as a marketing specialist

Becoming CMSQ certified

Those who complete the Certified Manager of Software Quality (CMSQ) program, earning at least 70%, show their employers that they hold the essential capabilities and competencies of software quality assurance (QA).

These individuals also demonstrate that they can manage their testing team effectively by exhibiting expert management and leadership skills.

Those interested individuals who seek this certification will be either a manager-level employees or will have gained enough experience in the quality assurance field to become eligible.

Requirements of this new designation include a completed minimum of 24 hours of continuing education credits in the field of quality management within the last 24 months.

The total cost for this new certification is $450 and includes the PDF application form, study materials, and an exam (which is taken online).

Aiming for a test or test manager job

The ISTQB offers a certification course for test managers who aim to progress further in the field of testing, enabling them to learn the best testing practices and team management skills.

To enroll, individuals must possess a Dilated Skills Certificate.

Then, after paying a fee of $250, they can take the SAQTM examination, which must contain at least 65 correct answers in multiple-choice format.

To earn this certificate, you should have:

  • The Foundation Certificate OR
  • Pass an AWS Technical Professional exam OR
  • Complete an AWS Online Course


There are a variety of QA testing certifications available, and the best one for you will depend on your experience and goals. If you’re just starting out, look for a certification that will give you a solid foundation in the basics of QA testing.

If you’re looking to move into a leadership role, look for a certification that covers management and best practices. And if you’re looking to specialize in a particular area of QA testing, look for a certification that covers that area in depth.

Whichever certification you choose, make sure it’s from a reputable source and that it’s updated regularly to keep up with the latest changes in the field.


Read about penetration testing certifications too. 

Genislab Technologies

NexGeneration complete end-2-end software testing & modern development operations tooling & solutions

Do you want to discuss your testing requirements with us? please don’t hesitate to hit the contact us button below, and we will get back to you at our earliest..

Share this article: